Misty Cave Part 3: Attack Sequence

So I missed a huge part of how attacks are calculated and someone has brought that to my attention! I'll quote the question I was asked in this post so I can give an answer explaining how the attack sequence works. It really confusing to watch the "replay" and you end up with more questions than answers for the most part. Let's start with the original questions asked.

"When you send mixed units, how do they actually fight? For example, if there is only axemen you're fighting, if you send all 3 infantry and archers, do they all participate, or just the most powerful one (i.e. the one in front)? I've noticed only the one in front losses units, which makes me wonder if the others even participate. Alternatively, if you sent spearmen and swordsmen against axemen, but the spearmen were first, would you not even get the bonus from the swordsmen?"
Asked by Melcockles

The answer is no the other troops won't make a difference at all. Only the first troop you send will actually make an attack on the axemen

When you send mixed units the first one to attack is your strongest troop, followed by the second strongest, then third and so on. It make be easier to think of every troop as one single unit that you increase the power on. So instead of having 10,000 swordsman you can think of it as having 1 swordsman with the strength of 10,000. It seems strange but that's how the battle sequence is. 

If we look at how the battle sequence is played out you will notice the God cards will activate their abilities first, or throughout battle depending on the ability. But usually first. Then the real battle begins. We will use the scenarios in the question as an example.

The enemy troop has only axemen.
You attack with swordsmen, spearmen, axemen and archers
Your spearmen in this case has the highest power, followed by swordsmen, followed by archers and axemen.

Each troop has its own round and round 1 is going to be the Attackers highest power troop against the Defenders highest power troop. In this case the defend only has axemen so round 1 is your spearman versus the axemen.

Round 1 Spearmen make the first strike but doesn't kill the axemen
             Axemen retaliate and the round ends.

Battle ends in slight victory.
In this case your other troops won't do anything. Attacking with them would be pointless. But if your enemy has mixed troops there will be additional rounds. For example

The enemy's line up is swordsmen then axemen
Your line up is axemen then spearmen then swordsmen

Round 1 Axemen make the first strike and eliminates the swordsmen
              The round ends
Round 2 Your Axemen attack his axemen but doesn't kill the axemen
              His Axemen retaliate and take out some of your axemen. The round ends
Round 3 Your Axemen attack his axemen and eliminates the axemen
              The round ends

Battle ends in slight victory

Again your swordsmen didn't do anything. In fact the spearmen didn't do anything either. The reason is that your troops stay in battle until they die. They you end up losing a certain amount of troops. You can't lose more than half the troops though. Technically you're losing the battle but the troops are retreating in time to return home.

It's a little complicated but you can avoid all this if you attack with only archers if there are only infantry.

As a general rule of thumb in the Misty Cave attack with whatever is strong against the second round of troops. That means you need to calculate which is the weaker of the two.

Special thanks to Melcockles for this!


  1. So behind the idea is to attack with only one unit? The system seems so confusing...

  2. Hey ! Check out my website about doing caves, quite helpful :D


  3. I appreciate your Misty Caves Guide and was curious if you were going to make a similar guide in regards to the Conquest mode?

  4. 165 archers work for any type of troops you are against in this level

  5. What if I'm fighting cavalry & spearsman or cavalry & Axeman, which troops I have to send without lossing any of them ?

    1. cavalry + axe = sword
      cavalry + spear = axe


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.